Tshwane Open   

contact us | Get your tickets for the Tshwane Open now!


I really enjoyed myself here, says 2017 Ladies Tshwane Open winner Kiran Matharu“I came down to South Africa to get competitive experience,” said England’s Kiran Matharu. And she didn’t disappoint, lifting the 2017 Ladies Tshwane Open trophy at the beautiful Zwartkop Country Club.

The 27-year-old posted a winning score of nine over 209, showing fine form with four birdies on the back nine in her final round. She beat defending champion Monique Smit and Ashleigh Buhai by five strokes.

The amateur honours were taken by local golfer, Catherine Lau, a former Nomads SA Girls Rose Bowl champion from Woodhill Country Club.

The fourth 2017 Ladies Tshwane Open took place from 31 January to 2 February at one of Tshwane’s top golf venues, which was in great condition despite a rainy start to the tournament.

“I want to say a special word on thanks to the green keeper and the staff on behalf of all the players they did an amazing job to get the course ready after the flood on Monday. I really enjoyed myself here, especially on the back nine and I’m just so happy right now. Now I just want to keep going,” Matharu said.

Zwartkop Country Club, founded in 1933, is one of the oldest and most prestigious clubs in the City of Tshwane. The course offers golfers a classic parkland challenge, with tree-lined fairways and water hazards – the Hennops River meanders through the course.

Many famous golfers have played the course, including Sam Snead, Bobby Locke, Seve Ballesteros, Lee Trevino, Nick Faldo, Ernie Els, Nick Price and Retief Goosen.

Ladies Tshwane Open Winners

2017 – Kiran Matharu
2016 – Monique Smit
2015 – Lee-Anne Pace
2014 – Ashleigh Simon